All our content All our content

Interview Natty Ngoy founder of the accessories and leather goods brand INADEN

Interview Natty Ngoy founder of the accessories and leather goods brand INADEN

Natty Ngoy is a French entrepreneur from the African diaspora who works with master artisans in leather workshops in Ethiopia to create leather goods and accessories. She created her company in 2013, intending to promote African work, creation and products. 97% of the raw materials used are from the continent. INADEN is pronounced [inadene] and means Artisans in the Tamasheq dialect, a language of Berber origin.

DRC: Young people gather every day to bring aid to the war-displaced

DRC: Young people gather every day to bring aid to the war-displaced

Since March 2022, violent confrontations between the armed forces of the Democratic Republic of Congo (FARDC) and the March 23 rebel movement (M23) have displaced several thousand people in the eastern DRC province of North Kivu. According to the UN, about 510,000 people have been displaced in the territories of Rutshuru and Nyiragongo. The Goma actif Collective, formed by young activists and citizens, provides food aid to the most vulnerable women and children.

Guest: Eric Pounewatchy

Guest: Eric Pounewatchy

Éric Pounewatchy is an actor, director and screenwriter, born in Bangui, Central African Republic. He arrived in France at the age of 1 in the 1970s and spent his childhood in Sarcelles, a suburb of Paris. In this interview, he tells us about his achievements and contributions, among which the documentary "Sometimes destroy, often build, always serve", which talks about reconciliation between the army and the population in the Central African Republic in 2014 following a politico-military crisis.

Interview Charles KARANGWA, Africa Regional Head at the International Union for Conservation of Nature.

Interview Charles KARANGWA, Africa Regional Head at the International Union for Conservation of Nature.

Charles Karangwa is a Regional Head of Land Systems, Covering Forests, Drylands and Sustainable Agriculture at The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), Africa Region. In this interview during COP27, he talked about various topics, such as the role and mission of the IUCN, the work the organization has done and continues to do in Africa, nature-based solutions and the way they can benefit the African continent in the fight against climate change and more.

LAAF’s project on therapy for men who have been abused

LAAF’s project on therapy for men who have been abused

In Nigeria, a young woman who survived sexual abuse, found the strength to teach other victims how to overcome this ordeal. Her foundation Life after Abuse strives for a better social awareness of sexual violence and the post-traumatic convalescence of victims. Halima Layeni focused her attention on marginalized adolescents to whom she offered listening sessions and therapy. She then realized that young men who were victims of abuse needed more adapted therapy. Our correspondent in Abuja, Ugo Uyanna followed her to understand her approach.

Between war and inflation, a daily struggle for the inhabitants of Goma

Between war and inflation, a daily struggle for the inhabitants of Goma

In the Democratic Republic of Congo, inflation is forcing the inhabitants of Goma to limit their meals. They are subject to soaring prices and restrictions caused by the war. On the one hand, they are forbidden to leave their village. On the other hand, food shipments remain blocked in the north of the country by the rebels. Traders find themselves short of products and are forced to sell at a loss to survive.

Loader

Tous nos contenus All our content

Interview Natty Ngoy, fondatrice de la marque d’accessoires et de maroquinerie INADEN

Interview Natty Ngoy, fondatrice de la marque d’accessoires et de maroquinerie INADEN

Natty Ngoy est une entrepreneuse française de la diaspora africaine qui travaille avec des maîtres artisans dans des ateliers du cuir en Éthiopie pour élaborer de la maroquinerie et des accessoires. Elle a créé son entreprise en 2013 avec pour objectif de faire valoriser le travail, la création et les produits africains. Les matières premières utilisées sont à 97 % originaires du continent. INADEN se prononce « inadène » et signifie « artisans » en dialecte tamasheq, langue d’origine berbère.

RDC : des jeunes s’organisent chaque jour pour apporter de l’aide aux déplacés de guerre

RDC : des jeunes s’organisent chaque jour pour apporter de l’aide aux déplacés de guerre

Depuis mars 2022, des violents affrontements qui opposent des forces armées de la République Démocratique du Congo (FARDC) au mouvement rebelle du 23 mars (M23) ont causé le déplacement de plusieurs milliers de personnes dans l’est de la RDC en province du Nord-Kivudes. Selon l’ONU, environ 510 000 personnes se sont déplacées dans les territoires de Rutshuru et Nyiragongo. Le Collectif Goma Actif composée de jeunes activistes et citoyens apporte une aide alimentaire aux femmes et aux enfants, les plus fragilisés.

Invité du jour : Éric Pounewatchy

Invité du jour : Éric Pounewatchy

Éric Pounewatchy est un acteur, réalisateur et scénariste, né à Bangui en République centrafricaine. Il arrive en France à l’âge de 1 an dans les années 70 et passe son enfance à Sarcelles, en banlieue parisienne. Dans cet entretien, il nous parle de ses réalisations et de ses contributions, parmi lesquelles le documentaire « Parfois détruire, souvent construire, toujours servir », qui parle de réconciliation entre l’armée et la population en République centrafricaine en 2014 suite à une crise politico-militaire.

Interview Charles KARANGWA, responsable Afrique à l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature.

Interview Charles KARANGWA, responsable Afrique à l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature.

Charles Karangwa est responsable régional des systèmes terrestres, couvrant les forêts, les terres arides et l'agriculture durable à l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN), région Afrique. Dans cette interview réalisée pendant la COP27, il a abordé divers sujets, tels que le rôle et la mission de l'UICN, le travail que l'organisation a accompli et continue d'accomplir en Afrique, les solutions fondées sur la nature et la manière dont elles peuvent bénéficier au continent africain dans la lutte contre le changement climatique, entre autres.

LAAF la thérapie pour les hommes ayant subi des abus

LAAF la thérapie pour les hommes ayant subi des abus

Au Nigeria, une jeune femme qui a survécu à des abus sexuels a trouvé la force d’apprendre à d’autres victimes comment surmonter cette épreuve. Sa fondation Life after Abuse s’efforce de sensibiliser la société aux violences sexuelles et à la convalescence post-traumatique des victimes. Halima Layeni a porté son attention sur les adolescents marginalisés à qui elle a offert des séances d’écoute et de thérapie. Elle s’est ensuite rendu compte que les jeunes hommes victimes d’abus avaient besoin d’une thérapie plus adaptée. Notre correspondant à Abuja, Ugo Uyanna, l’a suivie pour comprendre sa démarche.

Entre guerre et inflation, une lutte quotidienne pour les habitants de Goma

Entre guerre et inflation, une lutte quotidienne pour les habitants de Goma

En République Démocratique du Congo, l’inflation pousse les habitants de Goma à limiter leurs repas. Il sont soumis à une flambée des prix et des restrictions causées par la guerre. D’une part, ils sont interdits de sortir de leur village. D’autre part, les cargaisons de denrées alimentaires restent bloquées au nord du pays par les rebelles. Les commerçants se retrouvent en pénurie de produits et sont obligés de vendre à perte pour pouvoir survivre.

Loader